AV – Why I will vote ‘No’ in the referendum

I was always told ‘if it ain’t broke don’t fix it’ and that’s how I feel about the AV referendum. The first past the post system serves us perfectly well. What is wrong with the person who gets the most votes being elected?

It did make me laugh when I watched the ‘Yes to AV’ broadcast last week. Their main assumption was that the system should be changed because it would mean that Members of Parliament would have to work for ‘all’ of their constituents. I know many Members of Parliament – I have been fortunate enough to have worked for one for seven years – and I have never met an MP that doesn’t work for all of their constituents. They also did not mention once how the new system would work. That is clearly because it is so complicated!

I have spent the last two weekends in and around East Barnet knocking on people’s doors asking for their views on the referendum. Two things are very clear. Most people do not know that there is a referendum taking place and when you explain what it is about most are happy with the current system.

What does worry me is apathy. I predict that the turn out is going to be very low and with that, any result is possible. So, if you believe, like I do, that the best voting system is the one we currently have and that the person who gets the most votes should win, please go out on May 5th and vote no.

One Response to AV – Why I will vote ‘No’ in the referendum

  1. marchydleman says:

    The trouble is the system is broke, but I’m not sure AV is the answer. See http://wp.me/pTKZG-2e for a different idea that could go towards fixing it – but the politicians will never go for it.

Leave a Reply

