Cllr Lynne Hillan – Today I have lost a wonderful friend

Today I have lost a fellow councillor, a mentor and a wonderful friend.

The news that the former leader of Barnet Council, Lynne Hillan has passed away has left me feeling empty. We all knew she had been very ill and I had gone and said my goodbyes on a number of occasions – it still does not make it any easier.

I owe much of my political success in Barnet to her. She took me under her wing. When I first stood in East Barnet she spent many hours in the ward making sure we were doing the right thing! After the election and when Mike Freer was elected leader, she was made chief whip and she asked me to be her assistant whip. It was her lobbying that meant Mike Freer appointed me to the Cabinet. When Lynne was elected leader it was me she asked to be her Chief Whip.

I will miss her greatly. I will miss our discussions and debates on the phone that often went on for hours, usually late in to the night – and more often than not ending with her asking “Robert have you fallen asleep!”

It was an honour to learn from her and have her as a friend.

My thoughts and prayers are with her family.

Leave a Reply

